Social computing

CS 278 · Spring 2022

Today we interact with our friends and enemies, our team partners and romantic partners, and our organizations and societies, all through computational systems. How do we design these social computing systems to be effective and responsible? This course covers design patterns for social computing and crowdsourcing systems, and the foundational social scientific and technical concepts that underpin them. Students will engage in the creation of new computationally-mediated social environments.

Assignments Monday Wednesday

Assignment 1: Going Viral

Due Monday April 4 at 11:59pm

Going Viral

Bustling Streets and Ghost Towns

Project Proposal+Bricolage

Due Monday April 11 at 11:59pm

Designing Norms

Prototyping and Social Bricolage

Assignment 2: Beyond Being There

Due Monday April 18 at 11:59pm

Strong and Weak

Group Collaboration

Project wireflow milestone and class survey

Due Monday April 25 at 11:59pm

Assignment 3: Feed Me

Due Monday May 2 at 11:59pm

Growing Pains

Super Awesome Guest Visitor

Antisocial computing

Content moderation

Assignment 4: Let's Crowdsource An Exam

Questions due Friday May 6 at 11:59pm

Remixes due Mon, May 9, 11:59pm.

Votes due Wed, May 11, 11:59pm.

Wisdom of the Crowd

Crowdsourcing and Peer Production

Project launch milestone

Due Friday May 13 at 11:59pm

Super Awesome Guest Visitors

Governance

Exam

Thursday May 19–Friday May 20

Disinformation: going antiviral

AIs in social environments

Assignment 4: Let's Crowdsource An Exam

Final reflections due Wednesday May 25 at 11:59pm

Project gone viral milestone

Due Friday May 27 at 11:59pm

Future of Work

Super Awesome Guest Visitor

Project Paper

Due Friday June 3 at 11:59pm

Memorial day — no class

Unintended Consequences


    Lecture
  • Monday+Wednesday 1:30pm-3:00pm

    Lecture live, Skilling Auditorium. Recordings posted on Canvas.

Teaching assistants