Social computing

CS 278 · Spring 2020

Today we interact with our friends and enemies, our team partners and romantic partners, and our organizations and societies, all through computational systems. How do we design these social computing systems to be effective and responsible? This course covers design patterns for social computing and crowdsourcing systems, and the foundational social scientific and technical concepts that underpin them. Students will engage in the creation of new computationally-mediated social environments.

Assignments Monday Wednesday

Assignment 1

Meme and reflection due Wed, April 15, 11:59pm

Voting due Tuesday, April 21, 11:59pm

Going Viral

Creating Bustling Spaces Rather than Ghost Towns

Assignment 2

Design due Wed, April 22: 11:59pm

Reflection due Wed, April 29: 11:59pm

Designing Norms

Growing Pains

Project Proposal

due Wed, May 6, 11:59pm

Strong and Weak

Group Collaboration

gettingstarted.md: Prototyping and Social Bricolage

Super Awesome Guest Visitor

Assignment 3

Questions recommended Fri, May 8, 11:59pm. Due Mon, May 11, 11:59pm.

Remixes due Mon, May 11, 11:59pm.

Votes due Wed, May 13, 11:59pm.

Reflection due Mon, May 18, 11:59pm.

Wisdom of the Crowd

Crowdsourcing and Peer Production

Antisocial computing

Moderation

Midterm

Thur, May 21 - Fri, May 22. Completed before Friday, May 22, 11:59PT

Super Awesome Guest Visitor

Decision-making and governance

Project Milestone

due Fri, May 29, 11:59pm

Assignment 4

Collaboration Plan due Wed, May 27, 11:59pm.

Collab-o-Lecture due Wed, Jun 3, 1:30pm.

Final reflections due Mon, Jun 8, 11:59pm.

Memorial Day: No Class

AIs in Social Environments

Future of Work

Collab-o-lecture

Final Project

due June 10, 11:59pm

TBA

Unintended Consequences


    Lecture
  • Monday+Wednesday 1:30pm-2:20pm

    Zoom lecture live, accessible via Canvas. Recordings posted on Canvas.